Spain Crowned 2010 World Cup Soccer Champions


The 2010 World Cup Soccer tournament, held in South Africa, came to a close on July 11, 2010, as Spain made history being crowned World Cup Champions for the first time ever. This was the first time Spain got past the semi-finals since 1950.

Spain defeated the Netherlands 1-0, but the Dutch fought until the end, in a match that went into extra-time and saw the winning goal in the 116th minute of the match. It was mid-fielder, Andres INIESTA who scored the golden goal to secure the match and championship. The Dutch were down to 10-man as they accumulated several yellow-cards during the match and had some close opportunities.

Spain did an incredible job during the world cup qualifying rounds and won 10 out of 10 matches to secure a place in the 2010 world cup tournament. However, they had a rather nervous start in their opening group stage matches when they lost to Switzerland full match replay.

The EURO 2008 champions managed to get their act together in their other two group stage matches and were able to notch up victories against Chile and Honduras. They topped their Group H with 6 points to advance to the Round of 16 where they oust Portugal with a solitary goal.

With the win over Portugal, the European Champions clashed with Paraguay in the quarter-finals which was a match filled with a lot of drama. However, Spain managed to prevail with a narrow 1-0 victory.

As Spain advanced to the semi-finals, they had to take on the young, but impressive German team. Though Spain dominated most of the match, in terms of ball possession, it was another narrow 1-0 victory, but enough to take them to the finals.

Spain, for most part, played a disciplined game and capitalized on their strength of being able to possess the ball better than any other team in the tournament. Their top goal scorer was David VILLA (5 goals), followed by Andres INIESTA (2 goals) and Carles PUYOL (1 goal). They scored a total of eight goals and conceded only two.

Iker CASILLAS, Spain’s Captain and Goal-keeper, was the adidas Golden Glove Award winner – he conceded only 2 goals. Andres INIESTA was awarded the Budweiser Man of the Match at the final match. Spain also won the FIFA Fair Play award.

CLICK HERE to watch the Video Highlights of all the matches that Spain played on the road that led them to become the 2010 World Cup Soccer champions.

Germany finished in third place and Uruguay finished in fourth place. Germany’s Thomas MUELLER won the Adidas Golden Boot Award as well as the Best Young Player Award. Uruguay’s Diego FORLAN won the adidas “Golden Ball” Award.

The next soccer World Cup tournament will be held in 2014 and Brazil will play hosts.

Anthony Godinho is a Human Resources professional, Trader and Entrepreneur. One of his passion is health and wellness, healthy living is a lifestyle to him. Another one of his passions is philanthropy and he is looking forward to connecting with like-minded individuals to share, learn and help. He enjoys sports and staying active. One of his favourite sports is soccer and he enjoys blogging about it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *